Chromebook Gestures

 

Today’s blog post is a request from Carol McLaughlin who asked if there was an easy list for Chromebook gestures. I am a huge fan of shortcuts, gestures, and hit keys that make using computers, laptops, and tech hardware easier to use with less clicks per task.

Chromebooks generally have a single touchpad which is different than Windows PCs who have a touchpad and two physical buttons that are synonymous with a physical mouse. One of the great things that Chromebooks have done is incorporated gestures into the ChromeOS to navigate native apps and Chrome browser. Google released a nice list of gestures for Chromebooks found here. Chromebook Gestures List

 

CB5-311_touch_gallery_02

Getting used to gestures and incorporating them into your work flow make tasks more efficient, less time consuming, and sometimes even seem like magic. One of my favorite gestures I discovered in accident as a secondary feature to the 3 finger tap. The three finger tap is magical when using it correctly. The primary feature of the 3 finger tap to open up a hyperlink in a new tab. As a teacher, every morning I open my Chrome browser on my Chromebook to access the 5-7 apps and websites that I need on a daily basis for my lessons. This was a time consuming task when so I had so many other things things to do in the morning before students walk through that door. I managed the bookmarks by keeping them in a Bookmark folder called “Daily” on the bookmark bar which I clicked each individual link with ctrl+click. This took time and was extremely annoying.

While listening to Google Teacher Tribe, Math Miller stated his favorite hack was a OSX feature that allow you to open up all bookmarks in a folder in one shortcut but there was no Chromebook gesture or shortcut. There had to be a better way for the sake of Chromebooks. One day I realized through an accident triple tap that all of my links opened in tabs and this became my new favorite gesture.

As I am teaching my students best practices with technology, I love to teach shortcuts and gestures that will make their workflow on a laptop or computer easy and efficient. My students find shortcuts with Chromebooks like a magical spells that I have bestowed upon them from Hogwarts. First graders and second graders are completely capable of using shortcuts and gestures on a Chromebook to navigate. This generation is a touchscreen generation so gestures are second nature when utilizing a Chromebook. Heck, my students love to show me new and faster ways to complete tasks on a Chromebook. In our classroom, we celebrate this new light bulb moments and make them the expert of that hack. This is all apart of our growth mindset classroom culture.

“Too easy Mr. Reed. Too EASY!”

For more info on Chromebook shortcuts, check out out one of my favorite blogs on Google Apps for Education, ChristinePinto.com who had an awesome guest post on this topic including teaching how to use a trackpad to littles.

Go #gafe4littles and #2ndchat

Let me know what is your favorite gesture on a Chromebook is and what useful ways do you use the 3 finger tap gesture to open up Bookmarks.

Thanks for reading..Shawn

Author: Shawn Reed

I am a 2nd grade teacher who has a passion for sharing amazing advances in education through technology, innovation, pedagogy, and design/growth mindset thinking.

Leave a Reply

